Your search results



Address: Villa Sucota, Via Cernobbio 19
City: Como
State/County: Lombardia
Zip: 22100
Country: Italy

CSAV – Artists Research Laboratory, former Advanced Course in Visual Arts, is at the core of the didactic activity of Fondazione Antonio Ratti. Created and directed by Annie Ratti since 1995, the lab aims to widen the knowledge of visual arts in both theoretical and practical aspects, nourishing experimentation and the originality of young artists coming from all over the world. Detached from the traditional teaching methods, CSAV offers a unique experience that privileges improvisation, debate and growth.

The approximately 20 artists, who are selected by a jury, live in Como for about a month, in July, creating side by side with the invited artist, an experimental workshop to deepen their knowledge in visual arts as well as to interact with each others and with the surrounding environment. This experience includes conferences and meetings with artists, critics and specialists of diverse disciplines, and also theoretical debates with the curators of the workshop.

All the activities of the CSAV – Artists Research Laboratory are documented in bilingual publications.

Past invited artists of CSAV were: Joseph Kosuth (1995), John Armleder (1996), Allan Kaprow (1997), Hamish Fulton (1998), Haim Steinbach (1999), Ilya Kabakov (2000), Marina Abramovič (2001), Giulio Paolini (2002), Richard Nonas (2003), Jimmie Durham (2004), Alfredo Jaar (2005), Marjetica Potrč (2006), Joan Jonas (2007), Yona Friedman (2008), Walid Raad (2009), Hans Haacke (2010), Susan Hiller (2011), Liliana Moro (2012), Matt Mullican (2013), Tacita Dean (2014), Yvonne Rainer and Andrea Kleine (2015), Renée Green (2016), Hannah Black, Michael Dean, Russell Haswell e Karl Holmqvist (2017).

Gregorio Magnani (2017-2018), Lorenzo Benedetti (2016-2018), Emanuela De Cecco (2015), Simone Menegoi (2013-2014), Andrea Lissoni (2011-2012), Cesare Pietroiusti (2007-2011), Anna Daneri (2006-2010; assistant and coordinator from 1995 to 2011), Luca Cerizza (2008), Roberto Pinto (2004-2007), Giacinto di Pietrantonio (1995-2004) and Angela Vettese (1995-2003).
Annie Ratti
Municipality of Como and Milan, Associazione Villa del Grumello, EPSON, Fondazione Cariplo, Camera di Commercio di Como

Open Call scambio EAC Montevideo – ViaFarini

Oct 14, 2019
Viafarini è lieta di annunciare lo scambio con EAC Espacio de...

Final Participating Artists of URONTO Residential Art Exchange Program

Oct 10, 2019
We are Glad to announce the Final Participants of Episode 08...


Oct 03, 2019
AiR Trieste con il sostegno del MiBAC e di SIAE, nell’ambito del...

Giuliana Marigliano si aggiudica la Open Call “Artful women for skin”.

Sep 30, 2019
Illustratrice napoletana fin da piccola attratta dal mondo creativo e dell’arte....

Open Call SEA Foundation – AiR Tilburg

Open Call SEA Foundation
Sep 30, 2019
2 fully-funded residencies available for artists, curators and art writers. SEA...

Open Call Velferden Centre for Contemporary Art

Open Call Velferden Centre for Contemporary Art
Sep 25, 2019
A working stay of two months at Velferden Centre for Contemporary...

VARC – Open call for 5 artist residency positions

VARC_5 positions artist residency
Sep 23, 2019
VARC is now inviting submissions for 5 funded artist in residence...

Camargo Foundation Core Program 2020-2021

Camargo Foundation Core Program 2020-2021
Sep 22, 2019
About the Program The Core Program is the flagship program of...